The Two Mirrors

Video clip: Your Word is a lamp unto my feet (Amy Grant DVD)

Song:

Your Word is a lamp unto my feet And a light unto my path

1) When I feel afraid and I think I’ve lost my way Still you’re there right beside me Nothing need I fear as long as you are near Please be near me till the end

2) I will not forget Your love for me and yet My heart forever keeps wandering Jesus, be my guide and hold me to you side And I will love you till the end

Reading: Mathew 7: 24 – 27 (as in Contemporary English Version)

These words I (Jesus) speak to you are not incidental additions to your life, homeowner improvements to your standard of living. They are foundational words, words to build a life on. If you work these words into your life, you are like a smart carpenter who built his house on solid rock. Rain poured down, the river flooded, a tornado hit—but nothing moved that house. It was fixed to the rock. But if you just use my words in Bible studies and don’t work them into your life, you are like a stupid carpenter who built his house on the sandy beach. When a storm rolled in and the waves came up, it collapsed like a house of cards.

Video Clips: From the film Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s stone

Voice 1: “It shows us nothing more or less than the deepest, more desperate desire of our hearts… However, this mirror will give us neither knowledge nor truth. Men have wasted away before it, entranced by what they have seen, or been driven mad, not knowing if what it shows is real or even possible…It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live, remember that…” – : Aldus Dumbledore’s in Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, Chapter 12

Voice 2: If you hear the message and don’t obey it, you are like people who stare at themselves in a mirror and forget what they look like as soon as they leave. But you must never stop looking at the perfect law that sets you free. God will bless you in everything you do, if you listen and obey, and don’t just hear and forget. – (Jam 1:23-25 Common English Version)

Conversations

1. Why do people look in a mirror?

2. The Mirror of Erised shows us ‘what we want’. Would you be willing to look into such a ‘magic’ mirror? Why? Why not?

3. What are the contemporary parallels to the Mirror of Erised? What do you think about these?

4. Media (Movies, Music Videos, Advertisements etc) shows us “nothing more or less than the deepest, more desperate desire of our hearts…” Comment!

5. What you want is what you get! In what ways do you think, Media gives us what we want? How has this changed our needs, (dis)likes, (dis) tastes and preferences?

6. Dumbledore contends, “It is our choices Harry that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities”. We watch what we are. Comment!

7. In what ways are we denied that which is real, excellent and delightful? How do you think this affects us?

8. Why do you think Apostle James compares the Bible to a mirror?

9. The Bible, as a mirror, shows us who we are. In fact, it’s a commentary about what is right and/or wrong about human nature? Would you like to look into such a mirror?

10. James exhorts us to never stop looking at the bible (perfect law). In what ways can we profit from reading the bible? Read Ps. 119: 1-5 & 2 Timothy 3: 16& 17

11. Why do you think it is important to ‘listen and obey’ and not just ‘hear and forget’?

Read Matthew 7: 24 – 29

In-Sight: Video Clip and personal stories

Responsive Reading: (Ps 119: 1-5 & 2 Timothy 3: 16 & 17)

You’re blessed when you stay on course, walking steadily on the road revealed by God. You’re blessed when you follow his directions, doing your best to find him. That’s right—you don’t go off on your own; you walk straight along the road he set.

You, God, prescribed the right way to live; now you expect us to live it. Oh, that my steps might be steady, keeping to the course you set; Then I’d never have any regrets in comparing my life with your counsel. I thank you for speaking straight from your heart; I learn the pattern of your righteous ways. I’m going to do what you tell me to do; don’t ever walk off and leave me.

Keep on being faithful to what you were taught and to what you believed. After all, you know who taught you these things. Since childhood, you have known the Holy Scriptures that are able to make you wise enough to have faith in Christ Jesus and be saved.

Everything in the Scriptures is God’s Word. All of it is useful for teaching and helping people and for correcting them and showing them how to live. The Scriptures train God’s servants to do all kinds of good deeds.

Prayer: Lord! Help us/me learn the pattern of your righteous ways and help us/me do what is right and pleasing to you. Please help us/me to never stop looking at the perfect law that set us/me free. Give us/me the grace to read, listen and obey your Word. Amen! Blessing: Come on! Let’s get on with life and paint the town RED (with thoughts, words and actions that are Real, Excellent and Delightful)

Leave a Reply

